Country profile

United Kingdom

General information

The UK is correctly known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It consists of four parts: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Alongside English, Welsh, Gaelic and Cornish are spoken.

The UK, with a landmass of 243,820 square kilometres, is home to around 64.6 million people, including a large number of immigrants from former British colonies.

The capital city is London.

The official language is English.

Economic data
Gross domestic product (GDP) per capita, based on purchasing power parity (PPP): USD 41,499
Real change in GDP between 2010 and 2015: 10.4 %
Gross national debt as percentage of GDP: 89 %
Percentage of women (aged 15-64) in gainful employment: 68.0 %
Youth unemployment rate (15-24 year-olds): 15.1 %

National currency: Sterling (GBP) / Rate of exchange: GBP 1 = EUR 1.1653
(as at 22 November 2016)

Additional information

Country information from the Federal Foreign Office
Website of the UK government