Country profile


General information

Mexico (the United Mexican States) is a federal republic in North America, which comprises 31 federal states and the federal district of Mexico City. Around 119.5 million people, including an indigenous population of about 12 million belonging to 62 ethnic groups, live on a landmass of 1,964,375 square kilometres (five and a half times the size of the Federal Republic of Germany).

The capital is Mexico City.

The official language is Spanish. The country also has 68 recognised indigenous languages, the most widely spoken being Náhuatl and Yucatec Maya.

Economic data

Gross domestic product (GDP) per capita, based on purchasing power parity (PPP): USD 18,430
Real change in GDP between 2010 and 2015: 14.9 %
Gross national debt as percentage of GDP: 54 %
Percentage of women (aged 15-64) in gainful employment: 44.7 %
Youth unemployment rate (15-24 year-olds): 8.8 %

National currency: Mexican peso (MXN) / Rate of exchange: EUR 1 = ca. MXN 21.844 (as at November 2016)

Additional information
Country information from the Federal Foreign Office
Website of the Mexican government (Spanish)