Country portrait


General information

The Republic of Guinea (French: La Guinée) is a country in West Africa bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Mali, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Sierra Leone and the Atlantic.

Alpha Condé, the President of Guinea, holds the chair of the African Union (AU) in 2017. The AU is an international organisation comprising 53 African states.

Guinea has a population of some 12.5 million (as at August 2014) on a landmass of 245,857 square kilometres. The capital city, Conakry, has a population of some 2.5 million.

The official language of Guinea is French.

Economic data

Gross domestic product (GDP) per capita, based on purchasing power parity (PPP): USD 1,265

Nominal GDP: USD 7 billion

Real change in GDP between 2010 and 2015: 15.1%

Gross national debt as a percentage of GDP: 56.0%

Percentage of women (aged 15–64) in gainful employment:

Youth unemployment rate (15–24 year-olds): 11.5% (ILO estimate)

The national currency is the Guinean Franc/exchange rate: 1 EUR = 9,917.5590 Guinean Franc

Additional information

Country information from the Federal Foreign Office

Website of the government of Guinea